By J. McKeagney
 

North Fitzroy underwent significant development in the 1880s boom as the population of the area grew by 10,000 people. This building (1886-87) is significant and provides a direct link to that time as it was originally the land sales office of Richard Rogers. Its very prominent location overlooked the streets in which land was being sold.

From 1890-1907,  the building was owned by the Standard Building Society and was used for various purposes before being acquired by the Post Master General in 1908 where it underwent internal modifications including the incorporation of a post master/mistress’s residence and a telephone bureau – a new technology in the early 20th century.

Its largely intact Classical decorative scheme which incorporates engaged Corinthian columns in its first storey, pediments, lions and a garland frieze is exuberant and demonstrates the ready availability of mass produced classical motifs. These motifs were also very useful in telegraphing the confidence and prosperity of those engaged in the opening up of Melbourne to land sales in the boom years of the late Nineteenth Century. The building’s hexagonal tower further emphasises the acute angle of the building’s site.
The B&W image shows that the tower was originally finished with a cupola. It is not known when this was removed.

In the late 20th Century, the North Fitzroy Post Office moved to a 1970s modern office building across the road in nearby Scotchmer Street. Since then the Old Post Office has been home to an antiques shop and, more recently, a bar.

Black and White image State Library Victoria Picture Collection c. First quarter 20th Century. Reference: Victorian Heritage Database

Discover more from The Fitzroy History Society

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading